Frequently Asked Questions - For Disabled Students

What students with disabilities at Alliant International University need to know about Student Services:

Q. What if I have additional expenses (i.e. medication, equipment, etc.) that is related to my disability? How can I have this factored into my financial aid award?

A. Students with Disabilities use the same forms as other students when applying for financial aid. There is a line on these forms that asks for medical expenses. There is no need for an additional forms (as in past years).

Q. I have difficulty using the Financial Aid forms. Is there a service that could help me?

A. Students can call or make an appointment with the Coordinator of the Office of Accessibility at your Alliant location for assistance. Contact information for your campus is below:

LOCATION

CONTACT  

EMAIL         

PHONE

Fresno

Keri Kennedy-Lewis

kklewis@alliant.edu

559-253-2211

Irvine

Marcella Hernandez

mhernandez4@alliant.edu

949-812-7464

Los Angeles

Celia Lopez

clopez@alliant.edu

626-270-3311

Presidio Graduate School

Dawn Mokuau

dawn.mokuau@presidiomba.org

415-655-8934

Sacramento Penny Schafer

pschafer@alliant.edu

916-561-3224

San Diego

Adam Kasarda

akasarda@alliant.edu

858-635-4471

San Francisco

Dr. Sureli Patel

skpatel@alliant.edu

415-955-2168

San Francisco Law School

Pat Alley

palley@alliant.edu

415-626-5550

Additionally, the US Department of Education offers services for individuals with print based and hearing disabilities. The Department of Education TTY number is 1-800-730-8913. Students needing assistance filling out their application can contact the Department of Education directly.

Q. How will the support I receive from Department of Rehabilitation (DR) impact my financial aid and account balance?

A. Students must notify the financial aid office that they are receiving vocational rehabilitation funds so that they may be placed on the award screen and included as part of their resources against their cost of attendance. Quite often the business office finds out after the funds have come in and then need to return financial aid to the lender. A letter from the Department of Rehabilitation or the student would be fine as long as Alliant International University is able to determine the amount that the student will be receiving for the terms of enrollment.

Students who are guaranteed to receive Department of Rehabilitation funding should provide the Student Business Services Office with an Authorization for Services as soon as possible. The university will abide by the special instructions on the document and refund any amount over the authorized amount that is due the student should they apply and receive additional financial aid.